I Now Blog for the National Institute for Civil Discourse

14 04 2013

I don’t have to tell you that I haven’t blogged much lately. Grad school is busy. You may have heard that before. Haha. But, I didn’t stop blogging completely, I just decided to try my hand at some more potentially important blogging. I volunteered my services to the National Institute for Civil Discourse (NICD) here in Tucson (it was formed shortly after the shooting of Gabrielle Giffords) and they told me they just had a grad student blogger leave and asked if I would be comfortable filling the spot. So, I’ve blogged for them (at the site Your Words Count, the community outreach arm of the NICD) about a half dozen times in the last couple of months – mostly simple pieces that describe some of my personal reflections on civil discourse and getting along. I’ve kept quiet about it because I’m a terrible self-promoter and I put more pressure on myself when it’s a much more public platform but a friend recently told me that the site’s goals are really worthwhile and, while my blog posts are just one small part of it, I should be promoting it a little more. So, I would love it if you checked out the Your Words Count blog sometime and let me know what you think. While you’re there, check out the rest of the site as well. The site is kind of a work in progress still but it’s got some great stuff. For a more academic take on civil discourse, visit the NICD website.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

