Just For Fun – My Job History

9 10 2011

It has been brought to my attention that I’m not posting enough. True enough.

The topic of this post is my job history. Maren has commented several times that I have had some very random jobs in my life and I agree. This little personal history snippet will be fun for me to recall and hopefully fun for you to read. It includes both paid and volunteer work. I may have missed some.

Beginning with the earliest job:

  • Budget Foods, Clinton, B.C. – Shelf-stocker, sweeper/mopper (duration: 1 year)
  • Ultrasave Gas (I think that’s what it was called), Clinton, B.C. – cashier (several months)
  • Precision Cartridge, Magrath, AB – Data entry (a month or two)
  • Morton Ranch, Del Bonita, AB – Ranch helper (I didn’t do much, but I got paid when I did)
  • Pretzelmaker/Little Monk Pretzels, Burnaby, B.C. – Pretzel maker (about a year and a half)
  • ASC Automotive Styling Center, Burnaby, B.C. – driver (a few months)
  • Landscaping for Mr. Fred George, Chilliwack, B.C. (a month)
  • Turkey barn cleaning, Chilliwack, B.C. (1 week)
  • Litescape Landscape Lighting, Chilliwack, B.C. – Cold calling (a couple months)
  • Union Station Foundation, Pasadena, CA – volunteer with homeless (6 months)
  • Window Gang, Houston, TX – window cleaner (9 months)
  • Formidable Foundations, Edmonton, AB – cribbing (4 months)
  • Canwest Properties, Edmonton, AB – maintenance helper (2 months)
  • BJM Painting, Edmonton, AB – Residential painter (2 months)
  • Edmonton Distress Line, Edmonton, AB – volunteer (9 months)
  • Catholic Social Services, Edmonton, AB – volunteer (1 year)
  • Liberty Security, Edmonton, AB – door to door salesman (2 months)
  • Rescom Landscaping, Edmonton, AB (2 months)
  • Barnes & Noble, San Diego, CA (4 months)
  • New Alternatives Inc, San Diego, CA – residential foster care (2 years)
  • Sharp Mesa Vista Psychiatric Hospital, San Diego, CA – volunteer (6 months)
  • No Child Left Behind, San Diego, CA – In-home Tutor (4 months)
  • UCSD OCD Research Clinic, San Diego, CA – Research Assistant (4 months)
  • National Children’s Study, San Diego, CA – household interviewer (9 months)
  • University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ – Teaching Assistant (current)
Actions

Information

3 responses

9 10 2011
Fred Leavitt

Well no one can accuse you of not having a broad background.

10 10 2011
Lisa Leavitt

I think your list is very interesting. It made me wonder if I could remember everything I’ve ever done work or volunteer related. I used to always think I would remember everything but as I get older I realize I don’t. I should try making a list now before I forget anymore!! Besides that, it will show my kids that I really have done a lot of things throughout my life :)

12 10 2011
Maren Leavitt

That’s more than I thought! It’s all over the place!

And I remember you saying something that you’ve only interviewed for a small few of your jobs. The rest were because you knew someone and it was offered?

Leave a Reply

