Christmas Gifts and Resolutions

29 12 2010

In an effort to avoid shamelessly bragging about my Christmas gifts, I have decided to share some resolutions I will be making that involve some of the gifts I received this year. I am very excited.

First, the perennial resolution, exercise. As many of you know, I’m an avid runner, although I have been running with less frequency of late. But this year, I received a Garmin GPS runner’s watch (the Garmin Forerunner 305, if you want to know). It is chock full of awesome features! I can keep track of my optimal heart rate, my pace, time, distance, favorite routes and I can upload it all to my computer to track my progress over time with graphs and whatnot. I can even pit myself against a virtual partner to help push myself harder. Since running my first marathon a year and a half ago, it’s been my goal to run another but I have been hampered by a persistent injury and persistent laziness, not to mention grad school applications and other stuff. So Garmin watch or no Garmin watch, I resolve to run and exercise more. But I think the Garmin watch will make my exercise more enjoyable and productive.

Next, reading. I think this is a pretty common resolution. Everyone wants to read more good books. One of the things I have enjoyed most about not being a student is all the time I have to read for recreation. This year I received a reading journal to help me keep track of the reading I’m doing. What I like most about it is that it has huge section of lists of award winning books. This is important to me because I’m pretentious enough to want to read the most critically acclaimed books so people think I’m smarter and more important. ;) Seriously, though, I like reading the classics, at the very least so I can say I’ve done it. So this year I think I’ll start selecting books from the Radcliffe Publishing Course: 100 Best Novels of the Century. I’m also gradually working my way through the Wheel of Time series. It is quite a challenge for a casual reader like me.

Next, I want to stay in touch with my family better. Most of the time I don’t know how to do this other than call more often, which I struggle with enough anyway. But this year I received a gift that might help me keep in touch with at least one family member. My brother and I probably communicate least often but we also require the least communication. But he gifted me some online multiplayer games that we can play together now and then. To be honest, that is how we got along when we were young and I can see it helping us stay in touch better now that we’re older. Now I just need figure out some tricks to keep in touch with my other family members better. Love you guys!

So I think those are some pretty common and modest resolutions to go along with some pretty cool gifts I received this year. We’ll see how it goes, I guess.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 01 2011
Fred Leavitt

Is the “Hunger Games” series considered a classic?

28 09 2011
Mike

There are still a lot of people buying the Forerunner 305 despite the fact that there are newer models available. I have read on several forums that this model is much better at picking up a gps signal than the forerunner 405 for example.

Leave a Reply

