Long Boarding in PB

4 09 2010

In the first 26 years of my life I had been on a skateboard exactly one time.  It was at my friend Trevor’s house when I was about 8 years old.  I remember that it was a short ride and I wiped out and I didn’t like it very much.

Fast forward to 2008.  One of the first activities that Maren and I did together was skate boarding at Mission Beach.  It was really late at night so I wasn’t too afraid of embarrassing myself.  I discovered that I actually enjoyed it.  It probably made a difference that we were on long boards and not traditional skate boards.

Fast forward to today.  Since moving to Pacific Beach last year, I’ve been going out skating fairly regularly and I’ve gradually been getting better.  But I’m not that good and in the process I’ve realized something.  You’ve got to have thick skin to be a novice skate boarder in PB.  Most of these people grew up with a skate board or surf board under them and it seems like a given that residents should be proficient on one or the other.

Why do I bring this up now?  Last night Maren and I went out to grab some Mexican food, she on her cruiser and I on my long board.  I was feeling confident.  But not even two blocks away from home a jag in the sidewalk takes my board out from under me.  I stayed on my feet but it was enough for some guys passing in their truck to hoot and holler and point at me.  Okay, a little embarrassing but not too bad.

Then after we’ve eaten we’re almost home and I’m crossing an intersection near our house and I try to slow myself down by dragging my right foot a bit.  Turns out the street was wet and instead of slowing down I did a classic feet out from under me and board flying down the road ahead of me bum drop in the middle of the street.  When that happens your bum never hurts as much as your pride does.  Thankfully, all the cars had their windows rolled up this time.

So there you go.  They weren’t my first wipeouts and definitely won’t be the last but I thought two long boarding fails in one night deserved a blog post.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 09 2010
Lisa Leavitt

:)

4 09 2010
Fred Leavitt

It looks like a lot of fun riding those things but I’m way too scared of breaking something important.

7 09 2010
kira

I would go long boarding in PB weekly with one of my boyfriends. It was so much fun!!! I was actually pretty terrible, but at least for me it was pretty obvious that I was being taught by a hot guy how to do it.

Hope your bum is feeling better :-)

Leave a Reply

