Favorite Movie Quotes

3 09 2010

My favorite movie quotes tend to come from my favorite movies.  There’s got to be many more quotes that I love but I’ve seen way too many movies to remember them all.  These are some of the best.

Tombstone

“I’m your huckleberry.” -Doc Holliday

Billy Clanton: “Why, it’s the drunk piano player. You’re so drunk, you can’t hit nothin’. In fact, you’re probably seeing double.”
[Billy Clanton draws a knife]
Doc Holliday: [takes out a second gun] I have two guns, one for each of ya.

“You’re no daisy! You’re no daisy at all. Poor soul, you were just too high strung.” -Doc Holliday

Braveheart

“Aye, fight and you may die. Run, and you’ll live… at least a while. And dying in your beds, many years from now, would you be willin’ to trade ALL the days, from this day to that, for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they’ll never take… OUR FREEDOM!” -William Wallace

[Immediately prior to being beheaded] “Freedom!” -William Wallace

The Shawshank Redemption

“Sometimes it makes me sad, though… Andy being gone. I have to remind myself that some birds aren’t meant to be caged. Their feathers are just too bright. And when they fly away, the part of you that knows it was a sin to lock them up does rejoice. But still, the place you live in is that much more drab and empty that they’re gone. I guess I just miss my friend.” -Red

V for Vendetta

“Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a by-gone vexation, stands vivified and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin van-guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition.
The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it’s my very good honor to meet you and you may call me V.” -V

Mr. Creedy: “Die! Die! Why won’t you die?… Why won’t you die? ”
V: “Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, Mr. Creedy, and ideas are bulletproof.”

“A revolution without dancing is a revolution not worth having!” -V

The Usual Suspects

“Who is Keyser Soze? He is supposed to be Turkish. Some say his father was German. Nobody believed he was real. Nobody ever saw him or knew anybody that ever worked directly for him, but to hear Kobayashi tell it, anybody could have worked for Soze. You never knew. That was his power. The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist. And like that, poof. He’s gone.” -Verbal Kint

The Silence of the Lambs

“A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.” -Hannibal Lecter

Dr Strangelove

“Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room!” -President Merkin Muffley

Big Fish

“A man tells his stories so many times that he becomes the stories. They live on after him, and in that way he becomes immortal.” -Will Bloom

A Beautiful Mind

“I’ve made the most important discovery of my life. It’s only in the mysterious equation of love that any logical reasons can be found. I’m only here tonight because of you. You are the only reason I am… you are all my reasons.” -John Nash

Now for some funny ones.

Happy Gilmore (I love this movie)

“The price is wrong, bitch!” -Happy Gilmore (to Bob Barker)

Shooter McGavin: “Just stay out of my way… or you’ll pay! LISTEN to what I say!”
Happy Gilmore: “Hey, why don’t I just go eat some hay, make things out of clay, lay by the bay? I just may! What’d ya say?”

Shooter McGavin: “You’re in big trouble though, pal. I eat pieces of s*** like you for breakfast!”
Happy Gilmore: “You eat pieces of s*** for breakfast?”

Grandma: “Sir, can I trouble you for a glass of warm milk? It helps me go to sleep.”
Nursing Home Orderly: “You can trouble me for a warm glass of shut-the-hell-up! Now, you will go to sleep! Or I will PUT you to sleep. Check out the name tag. You’re in MY world now, grandma!”

Dumb and Dumber

“Hey guys. Woah, Big Gulps, huh? All right! Well, see ya later.” -Lloyd

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

