Gold!

16 08 2010

It’s a modern day gold rush out there!  Or at least that’s what they want you to think.  I don’t know about you but I get a little suspicious of all those “gold for sale” ads on TV.  I’m no expert on precious metals and economics but it seems a little fishy when people with a lot of gold suddenly begin trying to unload it on the masses.  If gold is really as profitable as they say it is they are either very altruistic in their efforts to help out the American consumer during a recession (ha!) or they are your garden variety snake oil salesmen.  Based on my limited understanding of the subject I would say one of two things could be happening: gold isn’t doing as great as they say it is on the markets, so it’s time to get rid of it OR they’re simply buying loads of gold and selling it at a markup to make a buck or two.  In both cases it is capitalism at its finest and the average consumer is being misled and getting the short end of the deal.  And then the paradox of capitalism is that I should applaud the gold hawkers for turning a dollar and scold the consumer for being foolish.  Oh, America…

Actions

Information

One response

16 08 2010
kira

I totally loved that show when I was little. I always wished it was possible to swim in gold like that! :-)

Leave a Reply

