Don’t Forget Remembrance Day

11 11 2009

Since I’ve been living in the US, Remembrance Day sort of sneaks up on me because I don’t see poppy donation boxes everywhere.  But I still remember.  I’m so glad I was taught to observe this day since I was a child.  It is so important not to forget those who made the ultimate sacrifice in the pursuit of peace.  It doesn’t matter what your opinions of war are; being willing to give your life for your country is one of the highest forms of patriotism and those people around the world who fight for the right reasons deserve our respect.

This blog post is my little way of saying, “I remember” and I hope that we are all remembering and showing our gratitude today.  Something interesting you may want to check out is the Books of Remembrance.  These books contain the names of Canadians who have died serving their country since WWI.  There are seven Books of Remembrance kept in the Memorial Chamber of the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill.  There is one for WWI, WWII, the Korean War, the South African War/Nile Expedition, one for Newfoundlanders who died in war before they joined the union (because Newfoundland didn’t become part of Canada until 1949), one for the Merchant Navy and one for those who have died in any other conflict since 1947.

ww1023

This is a page from the WWI book of remembrance.  There is an Arthur Leavitt (of unknown to relation to me) listed as one of those who died.

Check out the Veteran’s affairs website for more information about these books.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 11 2009
Lisa

I believe my Dad has seen those books and we wear poppies to church the Sunday before Remembrance Day/Veteran’s Day. Everyone in our ward knows what they are now :) Alycia said that a member of her Bishopric was wearing one on Sunday so she went up and asked him if he was from Canada. He told her he was from England.

27 12 2009
Glen

Peter,
The information about the Books of Remembrance was neat. I looked up the name of my great-uncle who died in WW II in Italy. And the government was so good to send me a copy of that page.

I’ve forwarded this to my family and also have ordered this page for my mother.

thanks,
Glen Hudson
Beaumont, Alberta

Leave a Reply

