Album Club Review: Super Furry Animals – Dark Days/Light Years

1 06 2009

sfaDark Days/Light Years disappointed me a little.  The songs worth listening to ended too soon and the rest of the songs lasted much too long.

As the album begins I felt like the songs were pleasantly upbeat, stuff that I found myself bobbing my head to.  It wasn’t ingenious music but it was enjoyable.  I felt like it would make good ambient music at a party or something.  It’s the kind of music that you don’t hate, would sound good in the background at a party, but at the end of the night you’re not going to be asking the DJ who it was and you won’t be heartbroken if you never hear them again.

Then after the first four songs were done SFA’s modus operandi began to become apparent.  Each song title also happens to be the most repeated word or phrase of each song.  In the first few songs you forgive SFA for doing that because you’re sure that not all the songs will be like that.  And then as you listen on, you discover that, sure enough, nearly every song does the same thing.  And it gets old fast.

I found myself thinking that the songs from Dark Days/Light Years would sound good in short spurts, say in a commercial or something, but anything longer than that becomes very repetitive and annoying.  By the second half of the album my interest had waned and it all kind of blended together.  It’s a shame really.

But credit must be given where credit is due.  I think they are talented musicians and they produced some quality songs.  I liked Mt., Moped Eyes and Where Do You Wanna Go?, but for the most part, the songs were kind of forgettable.

Actions

Information

One response

2 06 2009
kira

strange picture!

Leave a Reply

