5 Star Albums

15 03 2009

I’ve been thinking about this new album club that I’m a part of (and that you, hopefully, will be a part of, too) and I came to an obvious yet important conclusion.  Everyone has different tastes in music.

I often don’t agree with others’ musical preferences.  Sometimes the musical fare of the masses leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.  For example, popular musical phenomena like Britney Spears or Lil Wayne.  At the other end of the spectrum are the trailblazing music fans who value their unique, progressive musical taste and are often of the type who would stop listening to a band when they become too popular (or at least rub it in people’s faces that they knew them first!).

Music critics arise from all across that range of musical taste and their critiques reflect that.  Generally speaking, I would say that those who judge music for a living are relatively objective in their judgments but no one is free of the influence of personal taste.  Therefore, I think a critic’s words should be held up in the light of the material they enjoy and compared to the music you, the reader of the review, enjoy.  If I was interested in knowing about a new rock album I would be less inclined to look to a Britney Spears lover for an opinion than to a Pearl Jam fan.  At the same time I think it is important to keep an open mind and be willing to let an informed reviewer show you something new about a particular piece of music or about music in general.

All of that being said, I thought I would do my future review readers a favor and illuminate for them some of my favorite albums, albums that I would consider “5 star” albums, or at least, albums that I enjoy very much.  Hopefully this will shed some revealing light on my reviews to come and be informative in some way.

So here are a few examples of my favorite albums:

Our Lady Peace – Clumsy

clumsy

Metallica – Black Album

blackalbum

Oasis – What’s The Story Morning Glory?

morningglory

Collective Soul – Collective Soul

collectivesoul

Goo Goo Dolls – Dizzy Up The Girl

dizzy

Michael Buble – It’s Time

itstime

Amos Lee – Amos Lee

amoslee

As you can see, there’s a heavy 90s rock influence among my favorite albums.  But I think these albums do well to approximate my musical taste.  I’m certainly not a close-minded music lover and my tastes are always evolving, these albums simply come to mind easily because they’ve stood the test of time.  I love getting to know new music.

And there you have it.  Some of my faves which have influenced my present musical tastes.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 03 2009
kira

I am currently hating Kanye West. I have now heard him BUTCHER singing live twice (SNL and American Idol). As a musician I can appreciate people who aren’t great singers, but I cannot wrap my head around how popular and rich Kanye is when he SUCKS that badly!!!!!!!!! I sing better than that! Oh I am getting angry again just thinking about it!

29 03 2009
flora

goo goo dolls “dizzy up the girl” album is one of my all time favorites.

Leave a Reply

