I Need Support!

26 02 2009

jockstrapHaha.  Just kidding.

Seriously though, I need your support.  I just committed to something very difficult this afternoon and I’m gonna need people to be keeping tabs on me about it.  

So here it is… I signed up for the San Diego Rock and Roll Marathon!!  

rnrlogoI have just over 3 months to train for it.  I figure I’m at a pretty decent starting point.  I’ve generally been running two or three times a week since I moved here.  It’s still pretty intimidating but I think I can pull it off.  I’ve been reading up on how to train and they say one of the most important things you can do is to tell people about it so that they can support you through the training and help keep you motivated.  

So that is where all of my faithful readers come in.  Training is going to be hard, not to mention the actual marathon and there are going to be times when I don’t feel like running or whatever.  I need all of you to ask me how training is going whenever (if ever) we talk and make me feel guilty if I’m slacking.  I mean it.  I really want to pull this off.  It’s on my bucket list, I have to do it.

In addition to signing up today, training officially started today.  I’m working with a training schedule I found on marathonrookie.com, a site recommended to me by my cousin Kira (shout out!).  My run today was a little more exciting than usual knowing that it was the beginning of my marathon training.  So that’s that.  Wish me luck and don’t let me give up!

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 02 2009
Aunt Lisa

That’s exciting. Did you know that Alycia & Kira are planning on running in that marathon also? Alycia is running in the Salt Lake City Half Marathon in April in preparation for the full one in May.

26 02 2009
Fred Leavitt

You’ve got my support. Share your schedule with me and I’ll check up on you every time I see you. I’ll ditch church that day and come cheer you on from the side lines, especially if Kira and Alycia are running.

26 02 2009
Melissa

Holy Smokes. Marathon. You might be my hero. You arent even going half first. Just straight to the big guy.

26 02 2009
kira

thanks for the shout out!!! Um, so I REALLY hope I will be in the race with you. My knee is acting up right now and I am trying to baby it now so I don’t really screw it up later.

Oh and the training is way harder than the actual race! The race ROCKS!!!!

28 02 2009
flora

Awesomeness peter!!! I will totally harass you into training. I am your little sis it is what i am here for

2 03 2009
randaltheresa

Way to go Petey! Of course, I don’t know how much harassment I can give you from the other side of the continent, but maybe I’ll randomly call you in the middle of the night to make sure you as still training.

2 03 2009
Susan

Look at you!! That’s awesome that you’ve committed yourself to running the marathon. I’m sticking to the half marathon as 13.1 miles a little bit more doable…wish me luck the end of May!!

Leave a Reply

