My Torture Playlist

13 12 2008

So I read a story a few days ago that I thought was interesting and a little disturbing.  It was about how they use loud music as a torture technique against suspected terrorists.  You can read the article here.  With the article they included a list of songs commonly used by the torturers.  The playlist of terror included songs like Enter Sandman by Metallica, Bodies by Drowning Pool, I Love You by Barney the Dinosaur, The Sesame Street Theme, We Will Rock You by Queen and others from Nine Inch Nails and Eminem, for example.  

screamingI disagree with the idea of torture.  Call me a hippie if you want, but I just feel very uncomfortable with it.  I think we can come up with better ways to get information that don’t dehumanize our fellow human beings and undermine any goodwill we’re trying to establish with the foreign world.  My feelings on torture aside, I thought I would take a walk on the light side of this issue and create a torture playlist of my own.  That is, a list of songs that would drive me crazy; songs that I would consider torture if I were forced to listen to them over and over.  

I empathize with the artists who object to having their songs used as implements of torture and this list of mine should not be considered an endorsement of these songs as potential torture songs.  This list is merely a personal criticism of music that I feel was created to torment me.  This is not an exhaustive list by any means.  Hope it’s good for a laugh.  Let me know if I forgot any.

Peter’s Torture Playlist:

I Love You, You Love Me – Barney and Friends,     I’m sorry to agree with the military on this song, Barney, but this really would drive me crazy.

The Song That Never Ends – Lambchop,     The title alone is a recipe for an annoying song.

Call On Me – Eric Prydz,     Combine this song with its music video and you have an audio-visual combination that will wreak havoc on your brain for hours and hours.

Barbie Girl – Aqua

Wannabe – Spice Girls

It’s A Small World After All

Macarena – Los Del Rio

Livin’ La Vida Loca – Ricky Martin

500 Miles – The Proclaimers

Cadillac Ranch – The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

Cha Cha Slide – DJ Casper,     You can thank LDS church dances for my disdain towards this song.

Crank That (Soulja Boy) – Soulja Boy

This Is Why I’m Hot – Mims

Rumors – Lindsay Lohan

Liquid Dreams – O-Town,     And any other similar boy band song.

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 12 2008
kira

You know, I don’t think the militaries technique would work very well on me. I like most songs (even Barney). There was one night when Barbie girl was just out and they played it straight on the radio station for about 15 hours (they were trying to prove a point, but I will spare you that story). Anyway, crazy me … I taped it!!!!!

The only song that would drive me nuts is the song that never ends. I might want to shoot myself after about a half an hour.

15 12 2008
Fred

If you played those songs in my jail cell I would tell them everything I knew in a very short time.

5 01 2009
Dan Harker

Pete!
I laughed and laughed when I read this post!

I HATE THAT PROCLAIMERS SONG SOOOO MUCH! EVERY TIME I HEAR IT, FLAMES COME OUT OF THE SIDE OF MY FACE!

But I will admit that I’m secretly in to the macarena.

23 01 2009
tamdiego

You hate the 500 Miles song?!?! Peter, I dont know if we can be friends anymore …

Leave a Reply

