Peter Recommends…

14 10 2008

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly – I had heard great things about this film and it didn’t disappoint.  Very well-made, sincere and moving.  The combination of music and imagery in some parts was particularly meaningful.  And the whole thing is made even more remarkable by the fact that it is a true story, based on the book written by the protagonist.  It really made me reflect on my own life and joie de vivre.  I shed a tear in this one.  See it.  Read it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lars and the Real Girl – This one surprised me.  I had heard good things about it but I had the impression that it was going to be funnier than it was.  Don’t get me wrong, it was funny, but not in the way I expected.  And the humor was definitely not the center of the film for me.  It was remarkable to me how they could make a movie with such a ridiculous premise and turn it into one of the most endearing and heartfelt films I’ve seen recently.  I remember feeling a little ridiculous as I shed a tear in a movie about a man who falls in love with a sex doll.  See this movie.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

