Hello, Dear Blog Friends!

14 10 2008

I think it has been quite long enough since you all have had the blessing of reading about me.  This post might still be a little disappointing because it will just be a brief update on my life.  Try to enjoy.  ;)

So, life kind of swept me away over the last couple of weeks.  That isn’t to say that I’ve been incredibly busy by any means.  Mostly my mind has been busy.  I’m feeling less certainty these days about which career, exactly, I want to pursue in grad school.  As an undergrad, I thought I had it all figured out, then I graduate and, whoa!  Good thing I decided to take a year to work before going to grad school.  Even then, the application deadline for grad school next fall is December, and I take the GRE in two weeks, so I still need to make a decision quick.  Many of you know already that my career goal throughout university was to be a counseling psychologist or something similar.  Now that I have to apply to a program it’s become much more complicated than that and I’m not exactly sure why.  I’m trying to decide counseling psychology or clinical psychology; PhD or PsyD; public school or private school.  And then lately I’ve developed an interest in Industrial/Organizational Psychology and have been seriously considering that as well.  One other thing that I’ve decided I want to do eventually is get my Master’s or something like it in Conflict Resolution and/or Peace Studies.  I think it would complement well whatever I choose to do.

So there you have it, that’s what’s been on my mind lately.  I know, “silly Peter”; this is something I probably should have figured out a long time ago.  But, in my defense, I thought I did have it figured out until recently.  Hopefully I can make a decision soon.  I am accepting advice from anyone willing to give it.

In other Peter news, I’ve been surfing a couple of times in the last few weeks!  So much fun!  That’s one major San Diego goal completed.  Now all I need to do is stay standing for more than 3 seconds.  

And one more thing I’ll mention concerns my singing.  My voice teacher brought up a few weeks ago that I might like to try out for the La Jolla Symphony and Chorus; she thought I had the kind of voice that would work well for it.  Well, long story short, I auditioned and got in!  They said I had a good voice and good range, but my theory and technical skills were hurting a bit, but they were willing to let me in if I promised to bone up on my theory.  So I’m gonna be a choral singer for a while.  Neat, eh?

And I’ll leave it at that.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 10 2008
Fred

I like the new look for your blog. Congratulations on the symphony and good luck with your degree. Of course it must be your decision but the Industrial/Organizational Psychology does sound interesting.

4 11 2008
Karla

congrats on the music:) you will do well in what you choose.

5 11 2008
Aunt Lisa

Peter, I have no doubts that you will figure out the schooling quandry and you will succeed whichever direction you end up going. You did great on your GRE’s and should be very proud. I should read your blog more often so I know you are preparing for them instead of finding out the day of! I also think it’s awesome you are singing in the choral and expanding your singing experience. You need to invite us to a concert sometime. :D

Leave a Reply

