I Am A Happy Man!

13 09 2008

At various times in last few years, some of my friends have asked me this question (or some variation on it): 

If you could do one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?  

Essentially, I look at it as if they’re asking me what activity makes me happiest?  My answer has always come easily and has been twofold: singing and playing soccer.  Without a doubt, those are the two things that I enjoy doing more than anything else and it will be a sad day when I’m no longer able to participate in them.  I’ve never earned a lot of formal recognition for either of them, but I love them.  My only regret is that I haven’t participated in these activities nearly as often as I would like, and I feel that it has left me with a lot of unrealized potential.  

But, one of my goals when I moved to San Diego was to change that.  It took me about 4 months but now that I’m feeling a little settled here and with a tiny bit of money in my pocket I’ve actually done something about it.  I recently started taking voice lessons for the first time in my life!  And I just joined an indoor soccer team!  I had my voice lesson on Thursday, could barely stop singing and practicing on Friday and I had a soccer game tonight and right now I feel on top of the world!  They’re like drugs for me!  I’m already so sore from my game tonight, but I keep remembering the high I felt when I was on the field.  

Maybe this is a bit of a silly post, but I was feeling good tonight and wanted to tell the world (or at least my blog readers).  Moral of the story, think about what it is you love to do (I know you all know what that is) and do it!

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 09 2008
Karla

Congrats on your accomplishment! Continue to enjoy life’s treasures.

15 09 2008
Susan

That’s awesome Pete that you’re taking advantage of those opportunities. Move over Josh Groban…I remember the first time I ever heard you sing in sacrament meeting and was pretty shocked. I had no idea that you had such talent!!

Leave a Reply

