A Couple Of Recommendations

12 07 2008

Sorry I haven’t updated this in so long.  I’ve been working way too much.  I’ve been thinking about some good topics for more interesting posts, so hopefully I’ll have something good to share soon.  But for today I wanted to make a couple of recommendations to all you consumers of popular media – one new and one old.  In the last few weeks I’ve been reading a bunch of books and I’ve seen a bunch of new movies and two in particular stuck out to me.

First, the book Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.  A lot of people have heard about this book, it’s kind of well-known, but somehow I didn’t manage to get around to reading it until a week ago.  And boy am I glad I did!  It’s a great book.  Well written, captivating and original story, and a unique perspective on human behavior and psychology.  I liked it so much I went and bought the sequel immediately and I’ll probably keep adding Ender books to my collection.  I don’t care what you think about science fiction, you should definitely read this book!

Second, the movie Wall-E.  I saw this film yesterday and I think it is my favorite animated film ever.  Before seeing the movie I read some reviews about the film that said that the lack of dialogue might turn away some viewers.  On the contrary, I feel the lack of dialogue enhanced the film that much more.  The characters still share a dialogue, just not in the traditional sense, but it is still just as meaningful, if not more.  The moments of actual verbal dialogue almost threatened to steal some of the beauty of the movie.  But ultimately, the film was made in such a way as to make it artful and moving and thoroughly enjoyable.  See it if you haven’t already!  Great movie.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 07 2008
Randal

Enders Game was my favorite book growing up – no lie. I’ve probably read it like four times. Glad to hear you liked it. And Wall-E is awesome. Have you heard about all its controversy, though. Ridiculous. http://www.avclub.com/content/blog/your_guide_to_the_wall_e

16 07 2008
Mike Leavitt

And probably his best book.

Leave a Reply

