It’s Official!

23 06 2008

I’m graduated!  I got my degree in the mail today!  Very exciting!  I’m a little sad that I didn’t get to actually attend my convocation.  I decided it would be better to move to San Diego and get working and paying off debt than to stick around for it.  I heard it was boring anyway.  But the way I see it, I’m gonna be going to grad school and it’ll be much more satisfying walking across that stage to receive my PhD one day.  This whole deal is a little weird though.  Since I’m gonna be going to grad school eventually and I’m mentally preparing myself for four more years of school and since right now my job doesn’t feel like a university grad’s job, it almost doesn’t feel like I accomplished very much.  But I did accomplish a lot!  Hooray!  That’s four years of post-secondary education under my belt that’s gonna open up great opportunities for me.  And I did pretty well at it, too.  Get back to me in a few years and I’ll have a job to match my education.  Well, I guess that’s it.  Just wanted to brag a bit.

I also want to dedicate some space to how awesome the University of Alberta is.  It’s a great school.  High quality teaching and facilities.  I really got to like a lot of the faculty.  Even though every student finds something to complain about while they’re attending classes, I think when it comes down to it the U of A is pretty darn awesome.  And I feel blessed to have been able to attend there.

  I'm in the middle of the left column.  Sweet!

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 06 2008
Susan

Congrats on the degree!! It’s always a good feeling to have accomplished something like that and now it’s on to bigger and better things. It can really only get better from here. :)

25 06 2008
Lisa

You should be proud Peter!! We are definitely proud of you!! Uncle Fred will be excited to see your diploma when he gets home. He of course is a little partial to the U of A since he got his undergraduate degree there. It is a great school and you were lucky to be able to go there. Now you are on to bigger and better things as you prepare for grad school. It will be exciting to see where you end up!! Love, Aunt Lisa

25 06 2008
Randal

Here Here. U of A is awesome.

3 07 2008
Fred Leavitt

Go UofA. I agree, it is a great school. They graduate some pretty good people from that school. You should be proud of yourself. Graduating from college is always a good thing.

Leave a Reply

