I read Twilight.

7 06 2008

So I just recently finished reading the book Twilight by Stephanie Meyer.  You’ve probably heard of it.  Among the people I know, it’s the book that has replaced Harry Potter, in a sense.  A book to build a craze around.  I wasn’t dying to read it or anything but enough people had told me I should read it and that it was amazing that I decided to go for it.  And since I just started working part-time at a bookstore I figured it would be good to know a little bit about one of the most popular books right now.  It was an easy read and enjoyable.  But it didn’t make me want to read more.  Many of my friends will be disappointed at that.  But I didn’t read all the Harry Potter books, either.  I stopped after the second one.  I just couldn’t get into enough to keep reading.  Same thing with this Twilight series.  I don’t know what it is about it; it’s well-written, it’s a decently interesting story, I guess something’s just missing for me.  

Even though I can’t determine exactly what made me not want to continue with the series, one thing that I know of that bugged me about Twilight is something for which Twilight is not alone in its guilt.  It’s the way that the supposedly teenage characters speak to one another.  Teenagers don’t actually talk like that!  They’re using words like ‘incredulous’ in everyday conversation and they speak more eloquently than the President!  That sort of stuff should only be done by pretentious word nerds like myself.  

And it’s the same with so many other teen novels and TV and so on.  I remember watching an episode of Dawson’s Creek back in the day and thinking to myself that those kids have larger vocabularies than my English teacher.  And that’s ridiculous!  But mine is a futile protest.  I acknowledge that that type of popular media may not be as watchable or readable if it were in genuine ‘teen speak’.  And I’m not saying that it’s always that way; teenagers can speak intelligently and sound normal at the same time. But too often they don’t sound like teenagers, instead they sound like English PhDs.  And it irritates the heck out of me!

And that’s my little rant for the day.

 

P.S. Remember my post about People Aren’t That Different?  Well, I just recently discovered another phenomenon to add to the couple I had there.  In California, when you don’t completely stop at a stop sign, but just sort of roll through, they call it a California Stop or a California Roll.  Let’s be honest, people everywhere do that.  Why does it get to be called the California Stop?  And I suppose the answer is that Californians made it up.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 06 2008
Kira

I’m sooo sad :-(

10 06 2008
Susan

If you didn’t like the first one then I wouldn’t suggest that you read the second, although it doesn’t look like you’re going to anyways. That one was my least favorite.

Leave a Reply

