My California Woes

24 05 2008

So for the most part, my stay in California has been really good so far.  I’m enjoying the warm weather, the proximity of the beach, the adventure of getting to know new people.  It’s a blast!

I finally managed to get a job – two jobs actually.  I got a part-time job at Barnes & Noble Booksellers.  That one should be fun and fairly easy.  And now that I’m done school I’ve been excited about doing more recreational reading, so this job is right down that alley.  Not only do I get a sweet discount on books at the store, but they also have a book loan program to encourage employees to stay up-to-date on the newest and most popular books.  I’m allowed to just sign out any hardcover book in the store for 2 weeks.  Sweet, eh?  And the store is always getting pre-publish manuscripts that we can read in-store months before the book actually goes on sale.  So I’m excited about that in a nerdy, book-worm sorta way.

I also got a full-time job with the San Pascual Academy.  It’s a high school for severely emotionally disturbed teenagers.  My job title is child care/mental health worker.  I’ll be helping make sure the kids behave and stick to their routines and whatnot.  And I’ll have the opportunity to interact with the registered psychologist they have on staff, which is what I really wanted.  I’m hoping this job will provide me with the experience I’m looking for to prepare me for grad school.  I’m pretty excited about it.  I start training this week.

So that’s the good stuff that’s going on for me.  But recently there have been a few things that have threatened to overshadow my good fortune.

First, I discovered something distressing about my car.  If you read my post about when I tried to cross the border with my car, you’ll remember that I needed to import my car in order to be able to register it in California.  Well, I waited for the letter that would tell me if I actually could import my car and when I finally got it the news was less than ideal.  Turns out I won’t be able to import my car at all.  So it’s useless to me and I can’t sell it here because it’s useless to the rest of California and the US.  So if I want to sell it I have to bring it back to Canada.  But for now, I still need it until I can get a new car.  Which is easier said than done.  Needless to say, it’s a hassle that I really hoped I wouldn’t have to deal with.

Second, I need to get a California driver’s license.  You wouldn’t think that would be very difficult.  I’ve switched licenses from BC license to a Texas license without any trouble.  Just dropped in at the DMV and switched it over in the same day.  Same thing when I switched my Texas license to an Alberta license.  But California is a little more anal.  Since I have a Canadian driver’s license, I have to take a written driver’s test AND a road test in order to get my Cali license!  Not only that, but the DMV is insanely busy here.  If you just drop in you may be waiting hours, and if you try to set an appointment, all the places I called are booking appointments two weeks away.  That’s ridiculous as it is, but then consider that the law here says that new arrivals to California are supposed to switch their licenses over within 10 days.  I’m going to wait two weeks to get in to take a written test and then once I’ve passed that I can schedule my road test.  I’m looking at maybe 3 weeks or more til I can get my license.  Ridiculous!

Third, I lost my wallet at Disneyland yesterday.  I don’t think I have to explain at all how crappy that is.  My whole life is in my wallet.  Driver’s license, credit and bank cards, SIN and SSN cards, permanent resident card.  And all I can think about is the worst case scenario.  I just keep checking my credit cards online to see if there’s any crazy charges.  I’m really hoping that someone finds it and returns it.  I’ll give it a little time.  So yeah, that sucks as it is, and it really makes it hard for me to resolve my other woes without all the stuff in my wallet.  

That’s about it for my woes, I guess.  That’s enough, I say!  Anyway, don’t worry about me, I’ll figure things out.  I just needed somewhere to vent about it.  The good still outweighs the bad – it usually does.

Actions

Information

One response

26 05 2008
Susan

Congrats on your jobs, but sorry about the misfortunes. Sounds like you have a pretty good outlook on everything and I’m sure that it will all work out. That’s crazy about getting a drivers license in Cali…must be because of all those Mexican immigrants.

Leave a Reply

